the 6th June, 1891. There have been five Premiers—Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Hon. Alexande. Mackenzie, Hon. Sir John Abbott, Rt. Hon. Sir John Thompson and Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell.

52. The following are the numes of members from time to time composing the Ministries, with the dates of their appointments :---

## LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE SEVERAL MINISTRIES SINCE CONFEDERATION.

| Office.  | Name.   | Date of<br>Appointment.   |
|--|---|---|
| Premier<br>Minister of Justice and Attor-<br>ney General | Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, K.C.B<br>Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, K.C.B              | July 1, 1867<br>July 1, 1867                                    |
| Minister of Finance                                      | Hon. Sir A. T. Galt.<br>"Sir John Rose.<br>"Sir Francis Hincks<br>"Sir S. L. Tilley         | July 1, 1867<br>Nov. 30, 1867<br>Oct. 9, 1869<br>Feb. 22, 1873  |
| Minister of Public Works                                 | Hon. W. McDougall<br>"Sir Hector L. Langevin  | July 1, 1867<br>Dec. 9, 1869                                    |
| Minister of Militia and Defence                          | Hon. Sir George E. Cartier<br>"Hugh McDonald  | July 1, 1867<br>" 1, 1873                                       |
| Minister of Customs                                      |   | July 1, 1867<br>Feb. 22, 1873                                   |
| Minister of Agriculture                                  | Hon. J. C. Chapais.<br>"C. Dunkin<br>''J. H. Pope   | July 1, 1867<br>Nov. 16, 1869<br>Oct. 25, 1871                  |
| Postmaster General                                       | Hon. Sir A. Campbell<br>"John O'Connor  | July 1, 1867<br>" 1, 1873                                       |
| Minister of Marine and Fisheries                         | Hon. Peter Mitchell   | July 1, 1867  |
| Minister of Inland Revenue                               | Hon. W. P. Howland<br>"A. Morris.<br>"Sir Charles Tupper<br>"John O'Connor<br>"T. M. Gibbs. | July 2, 1872<br>March 4, 1873                                   |
| Minister of Interior                                     | Hon. Sir A. Campbell  | July 1, 1873  |
| President of Council                                     | Hon. A. J. F. Blair   | Jan. 30, 1869<br>Nov. 16, 1869<br>June 21, 1870<br>July 2, 1872 |
| Receiver General   | " J. C. Chapais.  | July 1, 1867<br>Nov. 16, 1869<br>Jan. 30, 1873                  |
| Secretary of State                                       | Hon. Sir Hector L. Langevin   | July 1, 1867<br>Dec. 9, 1869                                    |

FIRST MINISTRY.